University's Senate

University's Senate is the academic body of the University and subject to the statutes, rules and regulations, the right to control and give general instruction on teaching, research, examinations, degrees, diplomas, certificates and other academic recognition.

University's Senate membership consists of the Vice-Chancellor as the Chairperson, the Registrar as the Secretary, Deputy Vice Chancellors, Deans of Faculties and Head of Branch Campus, School, Centre, University Institute. In addition, also appointed to the Senate of the University is the full-time professors selected via the voting system by the Full-Time Professor and Associate Professor and five other members were selected by the Vice-Chancellor. Registrar, Chief Librarian, Bursar and Legal Advisor act as the ex-offocio but not entitled to vote in the Senate. Secretariat of the Senate meeting is the Head Division of Academic Management.

More information about the University's Senate are as follows:

    Prof. Dato' Dr. Musa Ahmad,
    Vice Chancellor

    All Deputy Vice Chancellors 
    Prof. Dr. Zulkiple Abd. Ghani,
    Deputy Vice Chancellor
    (Academic and International)

      Prof. Dato' Dr. Hassan Basri Awang Mat Dahan
    Deputy Vice Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni)
    Prof. Dr. Roshada Hashim, 
    Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
    All Deans and All Heads of Branch Campus / School / Centre / Academy / Institute University
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Yahya Mohamed Ariffin, 
    Dean Faculty of Leadership & Management
      Assoc. Prof. Dr. Adnan Mohamed Yusoff, 
    Dean Faculty of Quranic & Sunnah Studies
    Dr. Syahirah Abdul Shukor
    Dean Faculty of Syariah & Law
      Assoc. Prof. Dr. Amir Shaharuddin, 
    Dean Faculty of Economic & Muamalat
    Prof. Madya Dr. Azwani Sofia Ahmad Khiar
    Dean Faculty of Science and Technology
      Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Shamsir Mohd Aris, 
    Dean Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Noor Azizi Ismail, 
    Dean Faculty of Major Languages Studies
      Dr. Haslinda Ramli, 
    Dean Faculty of Dentistry
    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Janatul Islah Mohammad,
    Dean Center for Graduate Studies
      Prof. Dr. Kamaruzzaman Seman, 
    Dean Faculty of Engineering and Built Enviroment

    Dr. Abdul Manan Ismail
    Director Center of Soft Skills Development
      Dr. Mohamed Akhiruddin Ibrahim, 
    Director of Tamhidi Centre
    Dr. Adibah Sulaiman@Mohamad
    Director Centre of Core Studies
      Prof. Dr. Norita Md Norwawi, 
    Director of Islamic Science Institute
    Dr. Mohamad Isa Amat
    Director of Asian Center Research In Drug Abuse (ACREDA)
      Dr. Nuradli Ridzwan Shah Mohd Dali,
    Director of Islamic Finance and Wealth Management Institute (IFWMI) 
    Dr. Mohd. Sukri Hassan
    Director of Halal Research and Management Institute (IHRAM)
      Prof. Madya Dr. Irwan Mohd Subri
    Director of The World Fatwa Management and Research Institute (INFAD)
    Full-time professor elected for a term of three (3) years by all Professors and Associate Professor
    Prof. Dato’ Dr. Nik Mohd Nasri Nik Ismail,
    Professor Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
      Prof. Dr. Abdul Samat Musa,
    Professor Faculty of Syariah and Law
    Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mohammad Hj. Alias,
    Professor Faculty of Economics and Muamalat
      Prof. Ir Dr. Ahmad Faizal Mohd Zain
    Professor Faculty of Science & Technology
    Prof. Dr. Karsono Ahmad Dasuki,
    Professor Faculty of Science & Technology
      Prof. Dr. Rosalina Abdul Salam,
    Professor Faculty of Science & Technology
      Prof. Dato' Dr Mahmud Mohd Nor,
    Professor Faculty of Science & Technology
      Prof. Dr. Wan Omar Abdullah,
    Professor Faculty of Medicine and Health Science
    Five (5) members of the co-opting of the University by the Vice Chancellor for three (3) years 
    Ir. Daim Saian,
    Director Department of Development & Facilities Management
      Prof. Dr. Roshada Hashim,
    Director of International Relation Office
    Prof. Dr. Zainal Abidin Mohamed,
    Professor Faculty of Economics & Muamalat
      Assoc. Prof. Dr. Awangku Abdul Rahman Hj. Awangku Yussuf,
    Director of Industrial Liaison and Commercialization
    Prof. Dr. Rozhan Mohammad Idrus,
    Director Centre for Global Open Access Learning, 
    Immersive Technology and Quality Assurance
    Ex-Officio Members 
    Mr. Jasmin Jaimon,
    Chief Librarian
      Mr. Muhammad Haizuan Rozali,
    Dato' Haji Mohd Rasid Mohd Fadzil,
      Mrs. Yuhani Jamiran
    Legal Counsel

    Mr. Hammad Farhi Mohd Saudi, 
    Head Division of Academic Management

    (According to 81st University Senate Meeting Bil.3/2014 results which convened on 2nd July 2014)

    Ms Norlizawaty Tumin 
    Assistant Registrar of Academic Management

    (According to 81st University Senate Meeting Bil.3/2014 results which convened on 2nd July 2014)
  • Jurisdiction (function) the Senate is as follows:

    • To establish the Faculty, School, and Academic Institute, and the Department, Unit or Body of the Faculty, School, Academic and the Institute;
    • With the consent of the Board, to confer honorary degrees to people who have contributed to the advancement or dissemination of knowledge, or who have given distinguished public service;
    • To formulate policies and methods of teaching and learning, examinations, research, scholarship and training in, by or from the University;
    • To ensure the standard of education in courses held in, by or from the University;
    • To determine the feasibility or otherwise of any recommendations with regard to any curriculum or course of study carried out or to be carried in, by or from the University;
    • To determine the qualifications required for admission into any course of study provided in, by or from the University;
    • To regulate the conduct of assessments and examinations, confirm the results and determine the appeal;
    • To formulate policies to protect academic freedom and professional excellence; and
    • To do all such things as may be expedient or necessary for or incidental to the performance of its functions under this Constitution.





    Senate University Meeting No.91

    17 February 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    Senate University Meeting No.92

    6 April 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    Senate University Meeting No.93

    8 June 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    Senate University Meeting No.94

    10 August 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    Senate University Meeting No.95

    12 October 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    Senate University Meeting No.96

    7 December 2016


    9.00 AM – 5.00 PM

    *subject to change






  Division of Academic Management
Level 2, Chancellory Building
Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM)
Bandar Baru Nilai, 71800, Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, MALAYSIA
Tel: +606-798 8000, Fax: +606-798 8334, Email: bpa[at]